What are you reading? Stringer by Jean-Paul JODY

I love reading.
For 2 years now I read a lot of crime fictions. Among my favorite writers, I may quote Henning MANKELL, Jo NESBO, Peter MAY, Maurice ATTIA, Jean-Claude IZZO and much more. So I decided to share with you my feelings, as soon as I’ve finished a book.

The last one is about a ‘Stringer‘, written by Jean-Paul JODY. A stringer is an independent video cameraman who captures day and night the most awful images of the day-to-day life. And then he tries to monetize them towards TV producers. Filo, a young french guy, who dreams of being one of the actors in the cinema industry in L.A., becomes a stringer first to earn money, then to denounce the cruelty of people, thirsty of blody images. he book describes how the character reacts against such violence.

Stringer
by Jean-Paul JODY

Mass Market Paperback: 261 pages
Publisher: Actes Sud (February 8, 2000)
ISBN-10: 2742725539
ISBN-13: 978-2742725533

Buy it on Amazon

I recommend this book because of the Filo’s ongoing but tragic lost of sense of reality and because of the author’s questioning about TV influence, the place of images and the absence of reaction towards his media.

And you what are you reading?

About this entry